56: body bending

Screen Shot 2013-03-24 at 8.02.48 PM

how i wish i can draw interesting clothes on my figure drawings. How do you draw cool costumes??? Anyone? Tnx.

Have a good day 😀

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. donhoannguyen
    Mar 27, 2013 @ 00:35:04

    It used to be that you would collect clothing catalogues, circulars or fashion mags. Now you can just use the internet. The hard part is to make sure the draping makes sense. (Unless you’re drawing superhero tights)

    Reply

    • yanyandf
      Mar 27, 2013 @ 10:54:00

      hey, i used to collect magazines too. But i didn’t have time to sort them all out so I threw them in the end.
      my friends check out lookbook for fashion ideas. do you know any other sites? thanks donhoan!

      Reply

  2. rusty
    Mar 27, 2013 @ 12:22:24

    how about pinterest?

    Reply

  3. orijinalchris
    Apr 01, 2013 @ 17:32:03

    I search specific themes, like ‘1920’s fashion’ or ‘bolero jacket’ using an image search, then I’ll take it from there. I’ll often discover specific names for the look I’m searching for, which helps narrow it down. I save any images I like, whether they were what I was looking for or not, and have gradually built up a pretty good, free reference collection. I also look for images that show folds and light on fabric.

    Reply

  4. gilbert
    May 16, 2013 @ 00:07:56

    a good book i recommend would be Burne Hogarth’s ‘Dynamic Wrinkles and Drapery’. still swear to it, to this day. =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

